We Can all Use a Break Sometimes… and That’s Okay, Too!

stop-and-smell-the-roses

The past couple of months, my world has been somewhat isolating as I have worked diligently on achieving life goals, moving way too quickly to even stop and celebrate the small accomplishments.

I have worked on my memoir, beginning with the pre-order process, marketing, and trying to get the attention of eye manufactures regarding my (Your Sunglasses Selfie Project) also known as the, #eye4acure campaign.  All of this while also being a full-time graduate student in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, a good friend, a sister, a daughter, an aunt, a doggy mommy, and a good role model–––Yikes!

But let’s face it, my constant need to get everything done—to be productive, successful, and “make the world a better place”—has made me feel less of a superwoman and more like a cripple, as I feel I am running on empty.

I can go faster than a furious tornado all I want, but eventually my mind and body will let me know that I may have had about enough.

It’s time I check in with my mental health and slow down because that’s as important as my physical health at this point.

It’s time perhaps, to “stop and smell the roses,” which is easier said than done. I know…

I have to remind myself that it’s okay to take a break and make time for the things and people I love the most.  Like these things:

  • Meditate
  • Go on hikes
  • Exercise
  • Spend time with family, friends, and my two-four legged friend (Lucky and Happy)
  • Treat myself to a nice meal or glass of wine (or two) shhhh….
  • Disconnect from social media
  • And indulge on my espresso habit

The most important thing on this planet is to make sure we do not get pulled by lives fast pace momentum and allow ourselves to enjoy our journey as much as we can.

I would love to hear what you like to do for fun or while taking a quick break?

Post on my FaceBook page at: embracing your differences

Remember–––step back and take a break! And most importantly––remember to, “STOP AND SMELL THE ROSES.”

Tomorrow is a new day, to start over and start fresh.

Just breathe.

…………

Happy Holidays from:

Embracing Your Differences

Copyright © 2016 Embracing Your Differences, All rights reserved. 

One thought on “We Can all Use a Break Sometimes… and That’s Okay, Too!

  1. Francesca Buttitta says:

    You are definitely right , we do get caught up with so many projects that we take our lives for granted. Time passes us and we should enjoy the things that make us happy 😊 because life is too short !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

