Screen Addiction; Is it Even a Real Thing?

pj-ay787_bondsj_g_20110110205751

With most of my family in Europe, I love how technology gives me that instant gratification. All I have to do is pick up my device and connect with family from miles away [any time my little heart desires]. I love to hear the excitement in my nephew’s tone as he begins taking his first baby steps. I love that technology allows me to be a part of his life.

But I’ll be completely honest: this world of technology––frightened me a bit a few days ago.

I was at my doctor’s office waiting for my appointment when I noticed a mother and child sitting beside me and my own mother. A few minutes later, the child began to scream, probably bored and overwhelmed with the amount of people that surrounded us. I know I was.

But what happened next made me change my point of view on technology. The mother handed a tablet to her screaming child to quiet her down.

I looked directly at my mother and felt extremely blessed that she allowed me to play with toys, run around outdoors, and allowed my sister and me to make a house (mess) out of blankets, chairs, and pillows. For that moment, I felt extremely blessed that I didn’t get my first phone until I was 15. And I was thankful that my mother actually spent quality time with me. When I cried, she gave me affection, she read to me, and played games with me.

I know we live in other times, but I don’t like what technology is doing to our psyche.

Learn more on how modern technology is changing the way our brains work.

Do I really need to wake up and reach for my phone first thing in the morning? Do I really have to check my e-mail a hundred times a day? And look what social media has led me to feel—anxious, depressed, and angry.

Social comparison has become a real concern for my generation. Social media is like a marriage commitment I never signed up for.

And now I wonder if I, too, am spending more time behind a screen than I am outdoors and with people I really care about.

So yeah, screen addiction seems to be a real concern for my generation and the one to come.

And after writing this blog, it makes me want to disconnect from my devices for a while.  But before I do, I want to leave you all with this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7dLU6fk9QY

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”

–– Mahatma Gandhi

~Mariagrazia Buttitta

Copyright © 2016 Embracing Your Differences, All rights reserved. 

Leave a Reply

